Skip to Content

Rethinking Plastics – Circular economy solutions to marine litter
Reducing plastic waste and marine litter in East and Southeast Asia – Supporting a transition towards a circular economy in the region

print

Objective

The “Rethinking Plastics” project aims to support the transition towards a more circular economy and the reduction of plastic and marine litter in seven East and Southeast Asian countries.
  • €9.9m
    BUDGET
  • 15/05/2019
    PROJECT START
  • 36 months
    DURATION

The “Rethinking Plastics” project is cofinanced by the European Union and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and is jointly implemented by GIZ and Expertise France. It aims to support the transition towards a more circular economy and the reduction of plastic and marine litter in seven East and Southeast Asian countries via capacity building actions, exchanges of good practices and the financing of pilot projects.

Plastic pollution in the marine environment, a global challenge

The use of single-use plastic has increased exponentially in recent years with urbanisation, economic development and changes in consumption and production patterns. At the same time, waste management systems continue to be inefficient, for example, in terms of selective sorting, collection, recycling, energy recovery and waste disposal, especially for packaging.

These trends largely contribute to marine pollution, which poses a growing threat to marine ecosystems and the fishing sector, as well as to the tourism sector.

Marine waste, which includes abandoned fishing gear, affects some 800 species in marine and coastal environments. Today, 60 to 90% of marine waste is made up of plastic, especially single-use plastic products and packaging. In 2010, it was estimated that 5 to 13 million tonnes of plastic waste is dumped in the oceans every year. Microplastics are of particular concern, as their potential for toxicity, the level of which is still relatively unknown, may be very high. As they contaminate various levels of the food chain and drinking water, they are potentially dangerous for the environment and human health, especially for the endocrine system.

East and Southeast Asia are among the regions mostly affected by plastic pollution in oceans and by its impacts on biodiversity. In 2017, Asia accounted for 50% of global plastic production, China alone produced 29%. By comparison, the European Union (EU) accounted for 18.5%, where selective sorting and the recycling rate have increased in its member countries in recent decades. However, part of this plastic waste from the EU is exported to several East and Southeast Asian countries.

Consequently, greater cooperation between the EU and its partners in the region, in the context of the “Rethinking Plastics” project, will bring about mutual opportunities on these issues.

Developing a more circular economy to address this challenge

Most actors from governments, the private sector, the academic world and civil society believe that a transition towards a circular approach to plastic waste management is necessary. East and Southeast Asian countries, as well as the European Union (EU), are already part of multilateral agreements, such as the resolutions of the United Nations Environment Assembly concerning marine pollution, waste management and single-use plastic, as well as the G20 Action Plan on Marine Litter, adopted in 2017 under the German Presidency. Working for a transition towards a more circular economy is also one of the ways to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

A number of national and local initiatives have been launched in East and Southeast Asia to reduce the pollution of oceans by plastic. In 2018, the Heads of State and Government of ASEAN member countries, but also China and Japan, adopted the East Asian Leaders’ Statement on Combating Marine Plastic Debris. In June 2019, ASEAN member countries subsequently adopted the Bangkok Declaration on Combating Marine Debris, in particular via a more circular economy.

In 2018, the European Commission presented the ambitious European strategy for plastics in a circular economy. This strategy is part of a European action plan launched in 2015, which aims to ensure that all plastics packaging placed on the European market is reusable or recyclable by 2030. To achieve this, the strategy provides for improved plastic waste prevention and management, an expansion of the recycling capacity and an increase in demand from the recycled plastics market. This strategy also includes strengthening the EU’s international cooperation on the circular economy and preventing marine pollution.

Furthermore, in 2019, the EU adopted a new directive banning the use of certain single-use plastic products by 2021 (including straws, cotton buds, plates and cutlery). This European directive places greater responsibility on producers, increases selective collection targets and raises awareness of single-use plastic products.

Rethinking Plastics, a programme implemented by GIZ and Expertise France

The “Rethinking plastics – Circular economy solutions to marine litter” programme aims to address the challenge of plastic waste and marine pollution in East and Southeast Asia, by establishing close cooperation between the European Union (EU) and partner countries. It has six components:

1) Support the political dialogue between the EU, regional organisations (e.g. ASEAN) and partner countries on the issue of plastic production and waste management, in particular in terms of the environment, fishing and industry;

2) Improve plastic waste management, by setting up a waste hierarchy, in particular through extended producer responsibility (EPR) and the implementation of deposit systems;

3) Promote responsible consumption and sustainable plastic production, in particular via eco-design (to increase the product reuse and recycling rates) and the introduction of standards for recycled plastic and alternatives to plastic;

4) Reduce plastic waste from marine activities, in particular by improving the management of waste from ships in ports, and through agreements with fishermen for them to pick up waste and implement actions to avoid dumping fishing gear at sea;

5) Strengthen green purchasing policies, in particular via exchanges of good practices and training between peers with Japan and Singapore;

6) Implement awareness-raising actions targeting public actors and citizens on issues related to plastic consumption and its impacts on the environment.

 

The implementation started in mid-May 2019, with a 6-month start-up phase which aims to:

Identify the specific needs of each country, working closely with local and national stakeholders (firstly the ministries of environment and transport) and regional stakeholders;

Develop an action plan for each country and have it validated by the counterparts.
 

During the start-up phase and also throughout the implementation, the local, national and regional counterparts will be closely involved in the various activities. Synergies with other existing initiatives will also be promoted, in order to avoid overlaps and maximise the impacts.

 

Within the framework of the regional project "Rethinking Plastics - Circular economy solutions to marine litter" co-financed by the European Union and BMZ, Expertise France and GIZ are supporting the Department of Legal Affairs of the Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment in setting up a legal framework for the potential development of an EPR (Extended Producer Responsibility) in the packaging sector in Vietnam. This EPR Policy Brief is a framework document for decision-makers to address the key principles and share international experiences on EPR mechanisms and legal frameworks.

Download the EPR Policy Brief in English or in Vienamese

 

A joint implementation mechanism for GIZ and Expertise France

The GIZ/Expertise France regional project coordination team is based in Bangkok. National teams deployed by GIZ are located in China, Indonesia, the Philippines and Thailand and a team by Expertise France in Vietnam, based in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City.

GIZ, the German international cooperation agency, is responsible for:

• Achieving all the outcomes in China, Indonesia, the Philippines and Thailand for the geographical component;

• Implementing the outcomes 1, 2, 3 and 6 at regional level.

Expertise France, the French international technical cooperation agency, is responsible for:

• Achieving all the outcomes in Vietnam;

• Outcomes 4 and 5 at regional level.

Saut au contenu

Rethinking Plastics – Circular economy solutions to marine litter
Réduire les déchets plastiques et des déchets marins en Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est – Appui à une transition vers une économie circulaire dans la région

print

Objectif

Le projet « Rethinking plastics » a pour objectif d’appuyer la transition vers une économie plus circulaire et la réduction des déchets plastiques et marins dans sept pays d’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est.
  • 9,9 M€
    BUDGET
  • 15/05/2019
    DEBUT DU PROJET
  • 36 mois
    DUREE

Co-financé par l’Union européenne et le ministère allemand de la coopération et du développement (BMZ) et mis en œuvre conjointement par la GIZ et Expertise France, le projet « Rethinking plastics » a pour objectif d’appuyer la transition vers une économie plus circulaire et la réduction des déchets plastiques et marins dans sept pays d’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est, à travers des actions de renforcement de capacités, d’échanges de bonnes pratiques et le financement de projets pilotes.

La pollution plastique en milieu marin, un défi mondial

Dans un contexte d’urbanisation, de développement économique et de changement des habitudes de consommation et de production, l’utilisation du plastique à usage unique a augmenté de manière exponentielle ces dernières années. En parallèle, les systèmes de gestion des déchets continuent, eux, à manquer d’efficacité, par exemple en termes de tri sélectif, de collecte, de recyclage, de valorisation énergétique et d’élimination des déchets, notamment les déchets d’emballage.

Ces tendances contribuent largement à la pollution marine, qui est une menace grandissante sur les écosystèmes marins et le secteur de la pêche, ainsi que sur le secteur touristique.

Les déchets marins, dont les équipements de pêche abandonnés, affectent près de 800 espèces dans les environnements marins et côtiers. Aujourd’hui, 60 à 90% des déchets marins sont composés de plastique, surtout de produits en plastique à usage unique et d’emballages. En 2010, il était estimé que 5 à 13 millions de tonnes de déchets plastiques sont déversés dans les océans chaque année. Les micro-plastiques sont une préoccupation particulière, car leur potentiel de toxicité, dont le niveau est encore assez méconnu, est potentiellement très important. Comme ils contaminent différents niveaux de la chaine alimentaire ainsi que l’eau potable, ils sont potentiellement dangereux pour l’environnement, et la santé humaine, notamment au niveau du système endocrinien.

L’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est fait partie des régions majoritairement touchées par la pollution plastique dans les océans et par ses impacts sur la biodiversité. En 2017, l’Asie représentait 50% de la production mondiale de plastique, la Chine en produisant à elle seule 29%. En comparaison, l’Union européenne (UE) comptait pour 18,5%, où le tri sélectif et le taux de recyclage a augmenté ces dernières décennies au sein des pays membres. Cependant, une partie de ces déchets plastiques de l’UE ont été exportés dans plusieurs pays d’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est.

Une plus grande collaboration entre l’UE et ses partenaires de la région dans le cadre du projet « Rethinking plastics » permettra donc de faire émerger des opportunités mutuelles sur ces sujets.

Développer une économie plus circulaire pour relever ce défi

La plupart des acteurs gouvernementaux, du secteur privé, du milieu académique et de la société civile estiment qu’une transition vers une approche circulaire pour la gestion des déchets plastiques est nécessaire. Les pays d’Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est, ainsi que l’Union européenne (UE) font déjà partie d’accords multilatéraux tels que les résolutions de l’Assemblée des Nations Unies sur l’Environnement concernant la pollution marine, la gestion des déchets et le plastique à usage unique, ainsi que le plan d’action du G20 sur la pollution marine, adopté en 2017 sous la présidence allemande. Œuvrer pour une transition vers une économie plus circulaire fait également partie des moyens d’atteindre les objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

En Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est, de nombreuses initiatives nationales et locales ont été lancées pour réduire la pollution des océans par les plastiques. En 2018, les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernements des pays membres de l’ASEAN, mais aussi la Chine et le Japon, ont adopté la déclaration des dirigeants d’Asie de l’Est sur la lutte contre les déchets plastiques dans les océans. En juin 2019, les pays membres de l’ASEAN ont ensuite adopté la déclaration de Bangkok pour la réduction des déchets marins, notamment via une économie plus circulaire.

En 2018, la Commission européenne a présenté l’ambitieuse stratégie européenne pour les plastiques dans une économie circulaire. Cette stratégie fait partie d’un plan d’action européen lancé en 2015, visant à ce que d’ici 2030, tous les emballages plastiques sur le marché européen soient réutilisables ou recyclables. Pour y parvenir, la stratégie prévoit une meilleure prévention et gestion des déchets plastiques, une expansion des capacités de recyclage et une demande accrue du marché pour les plastiques recyclés. Cette stratégie inclut également de renforcer la coopération internationale de l’UE sur l’économie circulaire et la prévention de la pollution marine.

Par ailleurs, l’UE a adopté en 2019 une nouvelle directive interdisant l’utilisation de certains produits plastiques à usage unique d’ici 2021 (notamment les pailles, coton-tige, assiettes et couverts). Cette directive européenne accroit la responsabilité des producteurs, augmente les objectifs de collecte sélective et la sensibilisation vis-à-vis des produits plastiques à usage unique.

Rethinking Plastics, un programme mis en œuvre par la GIZ et Expertise France

Le programme « Rethinking plastics – Circular economy solutions to marine litter » vise à relever le défi des déchets plastiques et de la pollution marine en Asie de l’Est et du Sud-Est, via la mise en place d’une étroite collaboration entre l’Union européenne (UE) et les pays partenaires. Il est doté de six composantes :

1) Appuyer le dialogue politique entre l’UE, les organisations régionales (e.g. l’ASEAN) et les pays partenaires sur le sujet de la production de plastique et la gestion des déchets, notamment sous le prisme de l’environnement, de la pêche et de l’industrie ;

2) Améliorer la gestion des déchets plastiques, via la mise en place d’une hiérarchie des déchets, notamment à travers la responsabilité étendue des producteurs (REP) et la mise en œuvre de systèmes de consigne ;

3) Favoriser la consommation responsable et la production durable de plastique, notamment via l’éco-design (afin d’augmenter les taux de réutilisation et de recyclage des produits), la mise en place de standards pour le plastique recyclé et les alternatives au plastique ;

4) Réduire les déchets plastiques provenant d’activités marines, notamment via l’amélioration de  la gestion des déchets des navires dans les ports, des accords avec les pêcheurs pour qu’ils ramassent des déchets et qu’ils mettent en place des actions pour éviter les rejets de matériel de pêche en mer ;

5) Renforcer les politiques d’achats verts, notamment via des échanges de bonnes pratiques et des formations entre pairs avec le Japon et Singapour ;

6) Mettre en place des actions de sensibilisation à destination des acteurs publics et des citoyens, sur les enjeux liés à la consommation de plastique et ses impacts sur l’environnement

 

La mise en œuvre a débuté mi-mai 2019, avec une phase de démarrage de 6 mois ayant pour but :

• L’identification des besoins spécifiques à chaque pays, en étroite collaboration avec les parties prenantes locales, nationales (en premier lieu les ministères de l’environnement et les transports) et régionales;

• L’élaboration d’un plan d’action pour chaque pays partenaire et sa validation par les contreparties.
 

Dans la phase de démarrage mais aussi tout au long de la mise en œuvre, les contreparties locales, nationales et régionales seront étroitement associées aux différentes activités. Les synergies avec les autres initiatives existantes seront également favorisées, afin d’éviter les doublons et maximiser les impacts.

 

Un dispositif de mise en oeuvre commun à la GIZ et Expertise France

L’équipe de coordination régionale GIZ/Expertise France du projet est basée à Bangkok. Des équipes nationales sont situées en Chine, en Indonésie, aux Philippines et en Thaïlande, déployées par la GIZ, et une équipe au Vietnam, basée à Hanoi et Ho Chi Minh Ville, par Expertise France.

La GIZ, agence allemande de coopération internatonale, est en charge :

• sur le volet géographique, de l’atteinte de l’ensemble des résultats en Chine, en Indonésie, aux Philippines et en Thaïlande ;

• de la mise en œuvre des résultats 1, 2, 3 et 6 au niveau régional

Expertise France, agence française de coopération technique internationale, est en charge :

• de l’atteinte de l’ensemble des résultats au Vietnam ;

• des résultats 4 et 5 au niveau régional.