Skip to Content

OCWAR-M – Organised Crime : West African Response to Money Laundering and the Financing of Terrorism
Strengthening the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing in West Africa

print

Objective

This project aims to strengthen the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing (AML/CFT) in countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and Mauritania.
  • € 6.75m
    BUDGET
  • 15/03/2019
    PROJECT START
  • 47 months
    DURATION

In West Africa, organised crime is multifaceted: trafficking in drugs, arms, human beings… Its transnational dimension makes it difficult to neutralise and this entails human, economic and security costs for countries.

But organised crime, of whatever type, also generates financial flows. Identifying and neutralising them contributes to limiting the operational capacity of criminal and/or terrorist groups.

This is why the European Union’s priority is to strengthen the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing (AML/CFT). Consequently, alongside its own actions in this field, the European Union finances technical cooperation projects to help countries improve their tools to fight against illicit financial flows.

The OCWAR-M project is part of this approach and, along with OCWAR-T (Trafficking) and OCWAR-C (Cybercrime), is among the projects financed by the European Union to fight against organised crime in West Africa.
 

 

Strengthening tools to fight against money laundering and terrorist financing

The primary objective of OCWAR-M is to contribute to the adoption and effective application of international standards to fight against money laundering and terrorist financing (AML/CFT).

To this end, the objective of OCWAR-M will be to achieve:

• A better understanding of the ML/FT risks by partner countries and an enhanced coordination of actions at national level;

Greater compliance of the legislative regimes of partner countries with international standards and a more effective implementation of these regimes;

Enhanced national, regional and international cooperation, in particular to facilitate the sharing of quality financial information and the strengthening of the capacities of prosecution authorities;

Operational capacity building for GIABA, the Intergovernmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa, which is the ECOWAS specialised institution responsible for building the capacities of Member States in this field.


The team of French experts based in Dakar has been mobilised by Expertise France and combines expertise in project coordination, as well as in the financial and legal aspects of AML/CFT. It will work closely with GIABA and the various stakeholders directly concerned from partner countries (institutional stakeholders, operational stakeholders, professions subject to taxation, financial institutions, civil society).

The support will include very practical training for the various stakeholders, based on actual cases. It will also strengthen the legal framework for intervention (regulations, manuals, procedural guides…) and the tools required (computer equipment, information analysis software…) to increase the effectiveness of the prevention and prosecution of crime. Finally, cooperation will be sought with the private sector and in particular with banks and NGOs, which have a role to play in detecting and reporting illicit financial flows.

A 6-month start-up phase enabled to carry out an assessment of the 16 countries concerned, to define a detailed action plan for the implementation of activities adapted to each country and to ensure that any duplication of actions already carried out by national, regional and international stakeholders in AML/CFT was avoided. 

For further reading...

Article: Strengthening the fight against organised crime in West Africa: OCWAR-C and OCWAR-M projects presented at the Dakar Forum

Article: Fight against money laundering and terrorist financing in West Africa: “Political will is crucial”

 

Find out more about OCWAR ocwarm.eu

Suivre OCWAR-M on Twitter: @OcwarM

Saut au contenu

OCWAR-M – Organised Crime : West African Response to Money Laundering and the Financing of Terrorism
Renforcer la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme en Afrique de l’Ouest

print

Objectif

Ce projet a pour objectif de renforcer la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme (LBC-FT) dans les pays de la Communauté économique des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (CEDEAO) et en Mauritanie.
  • 6,75 M€
    BUDGET
  • 15/03/2019
    DEBUT DU PROJET
  • 47 mois
    DUREE

En Afrique de l’Ouest, la criminalité organisée présente de multiples facettes : trafic de drogues, d’armes, d’êtres humains… Sa dimension transnationale la rend difficile à neutraliser et cela engendre des coûts à la fois humains, économiques et sécuritaires pour les États.

Mais, quel que soit son type, la criminalité organisée a aussi pour caractéristique de générer des flux financiers. Or, les identifier puis les neutraliser contribue à limiter la capacité opérationnelle des groupes criminels et/ou terroristes.

C’est pour cette raison que l’Union européenne a pour priorité de renforcer la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme (dite LBC/FT, ou CFT/AML, pour combating the financing of terrorism and anti-money laundering). Ainsi, en parallèle de ses propres actions dans ce domaine, l’Union européenne finance des projets de coopération technique pour appuyer les États dans l'amélioration de leurs outils de lutte contre les flux financiers illicites.

Le projet OCWAR-M s’inscrit dans cette démarche et fait partie, avec OCWAR-T (lutte contre les trafics) et OCWAR-C (lutte contre la cyber-criminalité), des projets financés par l’Union européenne de lutte contre la criminalité organisée en Afrique de l’Ouest.
 

Renforcer les outils de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme

L’objectif premier d’OCWAR-M est de contribuer à l'adoption et à l'application efficace des normes internationales de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme (LBC/FT).

Pour cela, OCWAR-M aura pour objectif d’atteindre :

• une meilleure compréhension des risques BC/FT par les États partenaires et une coordination renforcée des actions au niveau national ;

• une plus grande conformité des régimes législatifs des États partenaires avec les standards internationaux et une mise en œuvre plus efficace de ces régimes ;

• une coopération nationale, régionale et internationale renforcée, notamment pour faciliter le partage de renseignements financiers de qualité et le renforcement des capacités des autorités de poursuite ;

• un renforcement de la capacité opérationnelle du GIABA, le Groupe intergouvernemental d'action contre le blanchiment d'argent en Afrique de l'Ouest, qui est l’institution spécialisée de la CEDEAO chargée de renforcer les capacités des États membres en la matière.


Mobilisée par Expertise France, l’équipe d’experts français basée à Dakar réunit des compétences en coordination de projet, ainsi que sur les aspects financiers et juridiques de la LBC/FT. Elle travaillera en étroite collaboration avec le GIABA et les différents acteurs directement concernés des États partenaires (acteurs institutionnels, acteurs opérationnels, professions assujetties, institutions financières, société civile).

L’appui passera par des formations très pratiques, basées sur des cas réels et destinées aux différents acteurs. Il permettra aussi de renforcer le cadre juridique d’intervention (réglementation, manuels, guides de procédures…) et les outils nécessaires (matériel informatique, logiciels d’analyse de l’information...) pour rendre plus efficace la prévention et la poursuite des crimes. Enfin, la coopération sera recherchée avec le secteur privé et notamment avec les banques et les ONG, qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la détection et le signalement des flux financiers illicites.

Une phase de démarrage de six mois a permis de réaliser un état des lieux des 16 pays concernés, d’élaborer un plan d’action détaillé pour la conduite d’activités adaptées à chaque pays et d’éviter tout dédoublement d’actions déjà entreprises par les différents acteurs nationaux, régionaux et internationaux de la LBC/FT. 

A lire aussi...

Article : Renforcement de la lutte contre la criminalité organisée en Afrique de l’Ouest : les projets OCWAR-C et OCWAR-M présentés au Forum de Dakar

Article : Lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme en Afrique de l’Ouest : « La volonté politique est clé »

 

En savoir plus sur OCWAR-M : ocwarm.eu

Suivre OCWAR-M sur Twitter : @OcwarM