Skip to Content

GCCA+ West Africa
Supporting West Africa’s regional effort for the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement

print
© Neil Palmer Photography - CIAT

Objective

The project aims to build the capacities of regional institutions and their member countries and bring about innovative adaptation solutions that contribute to the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • €12.1m
    BUDGET
  • 28/12/2017
    PROJECT START
  • 60 months
    DURATION

GCCA+, a global European Union initiative in the fight against climate change


An initiative launched in 2007

The Global Climate Change Alliance “Plus” (GCCA+ or AMCC+) is the second phase of an initiative launched by the European Commission in 2007. It aims to step up the dialogue and cooperation in the fight against climate change between the European Union (EU) and the most vulnerable developing countries.

This second phase in particular aims to take changes in development issues into account and thereby contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and to the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement.

 

 

The GCCA+ Initiative comprises:

• A “Global” programme, composed of programmes broken down by country under the supervision of the local EU delegations;

•  An “Intra-ACP” programme, which aims to work at regional levels and has been divided into regional components, including a West Africa component implemented by Expertise France under the auspices of ECOWAS.

 

Stepping up the dialogue and cooperation

The GCCA+ Initiative is continuing to support countries via two mutually reinforcing pillars:

• Political and technical dialogue;

• Support for the establishment of national and regional policies for climate change adaptation and mitigation, with greater emphasis on the management of climate knowledge and communication on it.
 

The priorities for GCCA+ are as follows:

• Strengthen the scientific and technical capacity of the subregion to reduce vulnerability to climate change;

• Promote the integration of aspects of climate change into development policies, strategies, programmes and projects at the subregional and national levels;

• Support the development and implementation of subregional and national climate change adaptation programmes and projects.

GCCA+ West Africa: Contributing to the West African regional effort for the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement

The GCCA+ West Africa project is the regional component of the Intra-ACP programme and aims to contribute to the West African regional effort for the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement. To this end, it specifically focuses on building the capacities of West African regional institutions, but also on bringing about innovative field solutions to strengthen the climate resilience of agricultural and rural actors.
 

Following a one-year preliminary phase, the project implementation is scheduled to last four years (2019-2022) and will focus on the following areas:

Strengthening the institutional leadership of ECOWAS on the climate by developing regional strategies and community mechanisms for member countries,

Supporting the operational implementation by countries of the commitments they made at the time of the Paris Agreement,

Building the capacities of negotiators and regional delegations in the context of the annual UNFCCC negotiations, to develop common regional positions,

Facilitating access to climate finance, in particular such as the Green Climate Fund, by building the project engineering capacities of institutional and private actors with the capacity to take on large-scale projects for the region,

Providing diploma-based training on climate change in the region, and e-learning continuous training courses for a wider public,

Financing pilot adaptation projects in the rural development and resilient agriculture sector by launching a call for projects.
 

Download the project presentation brochure

Project news

• Septembre 2021 Climate: 30 West African journalists trained in climate change reporting challenges and techniques

• Juillet 2021 : Climate: “Local governments must be at the forefront”

• May 2021GCCA+ West Africa project’s 2020 annual review: concrete achievements have been made to accelerate action on climate

 • March 2021: Climate: Improving the availability of hydro-climatic data to support robust climate policies in West Africa

• February 2021: Climate: 2021 remains a crucial year to review the commitments of West African countries

• January 2021: West Africa: launch of 11 new climate-smart agriculture pilot projects

• October 2020: Climate finance flows in West Africa: mapping to improve access to climate finance

• October 2020: 2019 for the GCCA+ West Africa project: bases for regional climate action

• September 2020: Climate change in West Africa: ECOWAS publishes a guide to implementation of the Paris Agreement for developing countries

• June 2020: West Africa: Launch of four climate-smart agriculture pilot projects

• October 2019:  Climate Chance Africa: Training to more effectively process climate information

• June 2019: Alain Sy Traoré: “The climate no longer concerns a single country”

Close coordination between Expertise France, ECOWAS and CILSS


This project is implemented by Expertise France under the leadership of the ECOWAS Commission, in partnership with CILSS.

Expertise France has set up a regional project coordination unit (PCU), which is housed at the ECOWAS Regional Agency for Agriculture and Food (RAAF). RAAF is based in Lomé (Togo) and has the mandate to monitor and support the implementation of regional projects under the umbrella of ECOWAS.

The project will also directly have a base at the ECOWAS Commission in Abuja, working closely with the PCU, through the presence of a technical assistant on climate finance.

Furthermore, in the context of the project implementation, Expertise France has signed two partnership agreements: one with ECOWAS for housing the PCU at RAAF and the project governance, and the other with CILSS for the implementation of part of the activities relating to scientific production.

Diagnostic on the implementation of the Paris Agreement in the region

 

In the context of the preliminary phase, Expertise France has conducted a diagnostic study to obtain a regional overview of the implementation of the Paris Agreement and identify the steps that need to be taken with regional institutions and countries to facilitate this implementation.

The report has highlighted the need to:

• Mobilise more financing, both public and private;

Popularise “climate” issues;

• Strengthen the monitoring tools for the implementation of the climate commitments;

• Build capacities for research and scientific production in the region.

 

 

 

Executive Summary of the diagnostic

Download the full diagnostic

Between the pre-industrial era (1850-1890) and today, the global average temperature has increased by over 1°C. A number of impacts are expected in territories – increase in water stress, desertification, increasing scarcity of natural resources, soil erosion, etc. – and are barriers to the achievement of the 17 SDGs. The Paris Agreement (PA) lays the foundations essential to a global governance ensuring there is consistency between the international commitments and the public policies implemented at the national and local levels, via a common tool for the 180 party countries: the Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC), which aims to reflect mitigation and adaptation commitments, at their highest level of ambition given the circumstances of each country.

This “dynamic” agreement is based on a transparency framework, whose modalities are still under discussion. The rules which will be defined in terms of the revision of the NDCs and the measurement, reporting and verification concerning the achievement of the commitments will be universally applicable with, however, flexibility for developing countries.

Africa is central to the challenges of climate change in this first half of the 21st century, both for the mitigation component, given its strong economic growth and demographic  growth, and in terms of adaptation, given the impacts of climate change, which can already be observed, but also the major challenges of development and the fight against poverty affecting a number of African countries.

However, African countries, and in particular the LDCs (11 out of the 17 countries targeted in the context of this diagnostic), remain insufficiently financed, equipped and supported to address the challenge and create an environment conducive to the implementation of the NDCs. Yet the 17 countries of the ECOWAS zone + CILSS (Benin,  Burkina  Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Togo, Senegal, Sierra Leone) have all made  commitments under their 1st NDC between 2015 and 2018, for a potential total of emission  reduction of some 900 MtCO2 by 2030. But this potential for reductions remains highly theoretical, as it is mainly conditional upon the inflow of international climate finance, which is still very limited, despite recent progress. In addition, several barriers related to the modalities for the management and monitoring-evaluation of commitments, the translation into public policies and sectoral regulations, access to appropriate techniques  and technologies, etc. hamper this implementation. But the situation is not homogeneous in the 17 countries and the existence of recognised “West African climate champions” can constitute both a strength and a potential threat to regional integration.

Furthermore, five of the ten most vulnerable countries in the world are among the  countries concerned by the GCCA+ West Africa programme and the future vulnerabilities  to the climate of West African communities will be different, as the climates are today in this vast West African territory. While this agroecological complementarity today constitutes an asset, the exacerbation of climate differences and the general deterioration of rainfall conditions call for regional cooperation frameworks to be strengthened.

The priority sectors for the NDCs in the region concern sectors in which regional institutions are already active (agriculture, land use, energy, water). Consequently, given their mandate for regional integration, ECOWAS and the partner regional institutions (CILSS, WAEMU) can naturally contribute to the implementation of the Paris Agreement via 5 types of action:

1. The pooling of efforts in order to create economies of scale, for example, on subjects  related to climate data acquisition, processing and analysis, but also in order to address “niche” issues which cannot be handled individually by each country (research, training);

2. The pooling of efforts in order to strengthen regional political leadership, in particular in the context of climate negotiations, but also for the mobilisation of financing;

3. The creation of platforms for regional exchanges of information and experience, with the aim of promoting regional solidarity;

4. The use of the community regulatory mechanism to suggest (guidelines) or impose (regulations) moves towards low-carbon and resilient development paths;

5. Specific interventions at national level in order to translate regional orientations into public policies and national regulations, at the request of Member States.

Saut au contenu

GCCA+ Afrique de l’Ouest
Accompagner l’effort régional ouest-africain dans la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat

print
© Neil Palmer Photography - CIAT

Objectif

Le projet vise à renforcer les capacités des institutions régionales et de leurs pays membres, et à faire émerger des solutions innovantes d’adaptation participant à la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat.
  • 12,1 M€
    BUDGET
  • 28/12/2017
    DEBUT DU PROJET
  • 60 mois
    DUREE

GCCA+, une initiative globale de l’Union européenne dans le domaine de la lutte contre le changement climatique


Une initiative lancée en 2007

L’Alliance mondiale pour le changement climatique « plus » (AMCC+ ou GCCA+) est la seconde phase d’une initiative lancée par la Commission européenne en 2007. Elle vise à renforcer le dialogue et la coopération dans le domaine de la lutte contre le changement climatique entre l'Union européenne (UE) et les pays en développement les plus vulnérables.

Cette deuxième phase vise notamment à prendre en compte l’évolution des enjeux de développement et contribuer ainsi à la réalisation des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) et à la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat.

 

 

L’Initiative GCCA+ se décline en :

 • un programme « Global », composé de programmes déclinés par pays sous la supervision des délégations locales de l’UE

 •  un programme « intra-ACP » qui a vocation à travailler aux échelles régionales et qui a été divisé en volets régionaux, dont un volet dédié à l’Afrique de l’Ouest et mis en œuvre par Expertise France sous l’égide de la CEDEAO.

 

Renforcer le dialogue et la coopération

L’Initiative GCCA+ continue de soutenir les pays à travers deux piliers qui se renforcent mutuellement :

 • dialogue politique et technique ;

 • soutien à la mise en place de politiques nationales et régionales d’adaptation et d’atténuation au changement climatique, avec une insistance plus forte sur la gestion des connaissances sur le climat et leur communication.
 

Les priorités pour le GCCA+ sont les suivantes :

 • Renforcer la capacité scientifique et technique de la sous-région pour réduire la vulnérabilité au changement climatique ;

 • Promouvoir l'intégration des aspects du changement climatique dans les politiques, stratégies, programmes et projets de développement aux niveaux sous-régional et national ;

 • Soutenir le développement et la mise en œuvre de programmes et de projets sous-régionaux et nationaux sur l'adaptation au changement climatique.

GCCA+ Afrique de l’Ouest : participer à l’effort régional ouest-africain de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat


Déclinaison régionale du programme intra-ACP, le projet GCCA+ Afrique de l’Ouest vise à participer à l’effort régional ouest-africain de mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat. Pour cela, il cible notamment le renforcement de capacités des institutions régionales de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, mais aussi l’émergence de solutions de terrains innovantes pour renforcer la résilience climatique des acteurs agricoles et ruraux.

 

A lire : Alain Sy Traoré : « Le climat, ce n’est plus l’affaire d’un seul pays »

 

Suite à une phase de préfiguration d’un an, la mise en œuvre du projet est prévue pour durer 4 ans (2019-2022) et se concentrera sur les axes suivants :

 • Renforcement du leadership institutionnel de la CEDEAO sur le climat à travers l’émergence de stratégies régionales et de dispositifs communautaires à destination des pays membres,

 • Appui à la mise en œuvre opérationnelle par les pays de leurs engagements pris lors de l’Accord de Paris,

 • Renforcement des capacités des négociateurs et des délégations régionales dans le cadre des négociations annuelles de la CCNUCC, pour faire émerger des positions régionales communes,

 • Facilitation de l’accès aux financements climat, notamment du type Fonds Vert, à travers le renforcement des capacités en ingénierie de projets des acteurs institutionnels et privés ayant la capacité à endosser des projets d’envergure pour la région,

 • Mise à disposition d’offres de formations diplômantes sur les changements climatiques dans la région, et d’offres de formation continues plus grand public en e-learning,

 • Financement de projets pilotes d’adaptation dans le secteur du développement rural et de l’agriculture résiliente à travers le lancement d’un appel à projets.

 

Télécharger le dépliant de présentation du projet
 

Dans l'actualité du projet...

Appel à propositions « Innovations pour une agriculture familiale intelligente face au changement climatique en Afrique de l’Ouest - GCCA+ Afrique de l’Ouest (GCCA+ AO) »

Appel à candidatures pour un atelier de formation pour journalistes africains

Le 16 octobre 2019, dans le cadre de la journée des initiatives du sommet Climate Chance Afrique, se tiendra l'atelier de formation pour journalistes africains. L'appel à candidatures est ouvert du 23 au 30 septembre ! En savoir plus sur le site du sommet Climate Chance.

Une coordination étroite entre Expertise France, la CEDEAO et le CILSS


Ce projet est mis en œuvre par Expertise France sous le leadership de la Commission de la CEDEAO, en collaboration avec le CILSS.

Expertise France a monté une unité régionale de coordination du projet (UCP), hébergée au sein de l’Agence régionale pour l’agriculture et l’alimentation (ARAA) de la CEDEAO. Basée à Lomé (Togo), l'ARAA a le mandat de suivre et appuyer la mise en œuvres de projets régionaux sous portage de la CEDEAO.

Le projet disposera également d’un ancrage directement au sein de la Commission de la CEDEAO à Abuja, en lien direct avec l’UCP, par la présence d’un assistant technique sur la finance climat.

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du projet Expertise France est en train de signer deux conventions de partenariats : l'une avec la CEDEAO pour l’hébergement de l’UCP au sein de l’ARAA et la gouvernance du projet, et l’autre avec le CILSS pour la mise en œuvre d’une partie des activités relevant de la production scientifique.

Un diagnostic sur la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris dans la région


Dans le cadre de la phase de préfiguration, Expertise France a réalisé une étude de diagnostic pour obtenir un panorama régional sur la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris et identifier les leviers à actionner auprès des institutions régionales et des pays pour faciliter celle-ci.

Le rapport a notamment souligné le besoin de :

• Mobiliser plus de financements, à la fois publics et privés ;

Vulgariser les sujets « climat » ;

• Renforcer les outils de suivi de la mise en œuvre des engagements climat ;

• Renforcer les capacités de recherche et de production scientifique dans la région.

 

 

 

Résumé exécutif du diagnostic

Télécharger le diagnostic complet

Entre l’ère préindustrielle (1850-1890) et aujourd’hui, la température moyenne mondiale a augmenté de plus de 1°C. Les impacts attendus sur les territoires sont multiples – accroissement du stress hydrique, désertification, raréfaction des ressources naturelles, érosion des sols, etc. – et constituent des obstacles à l’atteinte des 17 ODD. L’Accord de Paris (AP) pose les bases indispensables à une gouvernance mondiale assurant la cohérence entre les engagements internationaux et les politiques publiques mises en œuvre aux échelles nationale et locale, à travers un outil commun aux 180 pays parties : la contribution déterminée au niveau national (CDN), qui doit refléter les engagements d’atténuation et d’adaptation, à leur plus haut niveau d’ambition compte tenu des circonstances de chaque pays.

Accord dit « dynamique » et basé sur un cadre de transparence dont les modalités sont encore en discussion, les règles qui seront définies en matière de révision des CDN et de mesure, rapportage et vérification de l’atteinte des engagements, s’appliqueront de façon universelle, avec toutefois une flexibilité pour les pays en développement.

Le continent africain se situe au cœur des enjeux du changement climatique de cette première moitié de 21ème siècle, à la fois sur le volet de l’atténuation, compte tenu de sa croissance économique et démographique forte, que sur le plan de l’adaptation, compte tenu des impacts du changement climatique que l’on peut d’ores et déjà observer, mais aussi des importants défis de développement et de lutte contre la pauvreté affectant de nombreux pays d’Afrique.

Pour autant, les pays du continent africain, et en particulier les PMA (11 des 17 pays ciblés dans le cadre ce diagnostic), restent insuffisamment financés, outillés et accompagnés pour faire face au défi et pour créer l’environnement favorable à la mise en œuvre des CDN. Or, les 17 pays de la zone CEDEAO + CILSS (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cap Vert, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambie, Ghana, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritanie, Niger, Nigeria, Tchad, Togo, Sénégal, Sierra Leone) ont tous pris des engagements au titre de leur 1ère CDN entre 2015 et 2018, pour un total de potentiel de réductions d’émissions de l’ordre de 900 MtCO2 à horizon 2030. Mais ce potentiel de réduction reste très théorique, car conditionné pour l’essentiel à l’afflux de finance climat internationale, encore très limitée, malgré des progrès récents. En outre, plusieurs barrières liées aux modalités de pilotage et au suivi-évaluation des engagements, à la déclinaison en politiques publiques et réglementations sectorielles, à l’accès aux techniques et technologies adéquates, etc. freinent cette mise en œuvre. Mais la situation n’est pas homogène dans les 17 pays, et l’existence de « champions climat ouest-africains » avérés peut tout autant constituer une force qu’une potentielle menace pour l’intégration régionale.

Par ailleurs, cinq des dix pays les plus vulnérables au monde font partie des pays concernés par le programme GCCA+ Afrique de l’Ouest et les vulnérabilités futures face au climat des communautés ouest-africaines seront contrastées, comme le sont les climats d’aujourd’hui dans ce vaste territoire ouest-africain. Si cette complémentarité agro-écologique est aujourd’hui un atout, l’exacerbation des contrastes climatiques et la dégradation générale des conditions de pluviométrie plaident pour un renforcement des cadres de coopération régionaux.

Les secteurs prioritaires des CDN de la région portent sur des secteurs sur lesquels les institutions régionales sont déjà actives (agriculture, usage des terres, énergie). Ainsi, compte tenu de leur mandat d’intégration régionale, la CEDEAO et les institutions régionales partenaires (CILSS, UEMOA) peuvent naturellement contribuer à la mise en œuvre de l’AP à travers 5 types d’actions :

1. La mutualisation des efforts en vue de créer des économies d’échelle, par exemple sur les sujets relatifs à l’acquisition, au traitement et à l’analyse de données climat, mais aussi en vue de traiter des problématiques « de niche » qui ne peuvent être prises en charge de façon individuelle par chaque Etat (recherche, formation) ;

2. La mutualisation des efforts en vue de consolider un leadership politique régional, notamment dans le cadre des négociations climat, mais aussi la mobilisation de financements ;

3. La constitution de plateformes d’échanges régionales d’informations et d’expériences, en vue de favoriser la solidarité régionale ;

4. L’utilisation du dispositif réglementaire communautaire pour suggérer (directives) ou imposer (règlements) des évolutions vers des trajectoires de développement bas carbone et résilientes ;

5. Des interventions spécifiques au niveau national en vue de décliner des orientations régionales dans les politiques publiques et réglementations nationales, sur demande des Etats membres.