COP21: 26 countries supported by Expertise France in the submission of their contributions

Facilité INDC

The 1st of October was the final deadline for states to submit their national contributions (INDCs) ahead of COP21, which is to be held in Paris in December 2015. 26 countries were supported by France in drafting their climate plans through the French Facility to support INDCs, implemented by Expertise France and funded by AFD.

In order to better prepare their roadmap for COP21, some states expressed their wish to benefit from technical assistance in the submission of their contributions. The French government has put in place a €3.5 million "Facility" dedicated to the drafting of these countries national contributions. Funded by AFD and implemented by Expertise France, this project involves 26 [1] beneficiary countries. Countries were supported in taking ownership of the plan and the establishment of the necessary conditions for the implementation of the INDCs.

Among the 26 beneficiary countries, three models can be mentioned: the Republic of Congo, for the issue associated with the forest cover, Kiribati for its position in the face of sea level rise, and Haiti, for its vulnerability to climate change. These three countries were able to submit contributions which will be at the heart of the climate agreement to be adopted in 2015.

From now to 2030:

  • The Republic of Congo intends to commit to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 48%;
  • Kiribati intends to commit to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 13.7%;
  • Haiti, one of the countries that least contributes to pollution, intends to commit to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 31%.

[1] Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Gabon, Guinea, Haiti, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Niger, Senegal, Seychelles, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia, Zimbabwe, as well as the islands from the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu).

By Imene Ben Rabat
October 2015

Page top